Mandya Website


     Deputy commissioner of Mandya District is the Muzrai officer of the Mandya District and he exercises control over all the Muzrai  institutions in the districts.  He is responsible for to the Commissioner of religious and charitable endowment in Mysore, Bangalore, in respect of Muzrai matters.  He administers the affairs relating to the Muzrai institutions in his jurisdiction in accordance with provisions of the Mysore Religious & Charitable Endowments act, 1927 and the rules there under.  

            In the district there are many age-old Muzrai institutions which are held in high veneration for their sanctity.  There where 768 major,   1118  minor and  67 village institutions in the district, during the year. 

            The administration of all religious institutions vests in the respective trustees, who have manage them in confirmity with the provisions of the Mysore Religious & Charitable Act and the rules, thereunder.  In addition to daily poojas occasional special ceremonies, special poojas and prayers are offered in the Independence day, Republic day and other important occasions.   Registers, containing details of the jewels in respect of each of the Muzrai institution in the district, have been maintained in all the taluk offices.  There are strict instruction of the Inspection officers, whenever they visit any Muzrai institution, should verify the details of the jewels with reference to these registers and bring discrepancies, if any to the notice of the higher authority. 

 There are 1,955 Muzrai Institutions in Mandya District, the details of which are as follows :

Taluk Name Schedule Major Minor Rural


Mandya   154 122 2 278
Maddur   125 114 33 272
Malvalli   74 180 4 258
Srirangapatna 1 78 105 2 186
K.R.Pet   114 131 0 245
Pandavapura 1 36 163 25 225
Nagamangala   187 303 1 491
Total 2 768 1118 67 1955

Muzrai Institutions are classified as Scheduled, Major Minor and Village Institutions.

The Institutions with an annual Income of more than Rs.1000/- are called Major Institutions. Those with an Income below 1000/- and Rs.100/- come under the Minor category. The ones with an income less than Rs.100 per annum are categorised as rural Institutions.

Back to Top

Aradhana Scheme:

As per Order No:R.D:104:MLD:Dt:10.7.91, the Govt. of Karnataka established the Aradhana Scheme. In this scheme, the temples located at the residential locations of the scheduled caste and the scheduled tribes, backward classes 'A' group and minorities, were eligible to avail funds for repairs, renovations and constructions. In order to implement this scheme, the respective M.L.A from those constituencies are appointed as chairmen of the Aradhana Committee, which is constituted by the Government. The following people form the members of the committee:

MLA Chairman
Concerned Tahsildar Member Secretary
BDO Member
Executive Engineer, ZP Member
One Woman Member
One S.C. Candidate Member
One ST Candidate Member
One General Category Candidate Member

The Maximum grant amount is fixed by the Aradhana Committee after deciding on the work as follows:

Repair and Renovations Rs.20000
Extension of the existing structure, Compound and pooja room Rs.50000
New Construction of Temples and Pooja Mandirs Rs.100000

Every Year the Amount sanctioned under this scheme is distributed equally among the constituencies by releasing it to the concerned Tahsildars. The Aradhana Committee then decides about the beneficiary institutions to be selected and the execution of the proposed work is carried out.

Back to Top

Muzrai General Grants

Under this scheme, the Government sanctions funds for the repair, construction and renovation of specific temples which have applied for such a grant or have been recognised as deserving such a grant. The Tahsildar submits a proposal for the necessary works, which is then granted an administrative sanction, following which the amount is released to the concerned Tahsildar. As per Govt. Circular, 50% of  the estimated cost of the work in the proposal is expected to be acquired  through public contribution.  The rest is sanctioned and released by the Govt.


Back to Top

Wakf Board:

              Mention may be made here of the arrangements finalised for the proper regulation of Muslim religious and charitable institutions in the district.  There are a good number of Mosques, Dargahs, Imambaras, Orphanges, Poor Houses, Idgahs, Khabrastans, Ashoor Khanas and other Muslim institutions of a religious or charitable character, in the area.  These institutions are supported by specific endowments made for the purpose and are commonly known as Wakf properties.

              The literal meaning of Wakf is detention, stopping or tying up.  It is an unconditional and permanent dedication of property with implied detention in the ownership of god in a manner that the right of the owner is extinguished of its profits, the income being utilised for the benefit of mankind except for purposes prohibited by Islam.  A Wakf can be made exclusively for religious or charitable purposes or for maintenance and support of one’s descendants either as sole beneficiaries or in conjunction with other charities.  In order to ensure that such endowments are used entirely for the purpose for which they have been made and to make necessary arrangements for proper maintenance and administration of such institutions, the Indian Parliament passed the Wakf Act of 1954 which was amended in 1960.  Prior to the passing of the Central measure, the Muslim religious and charitable institutions had no statutory basis.

            The Mysore State Board of Wakfs, constituted under the central Wakf Act of 1954 (Act 29 of 1954), administers the Muslim charitable and religious institutions. In exercise of the powers conferred under sub-section (2) of section 5 of the Wakf Act of 1954, the Mysore State board of Wakfs is administering in all, 219 religious and charitable institutions in Mandya district.  The statement given below gives the taluk-wise break-up of such institutions:

            The Wakfs relate to both Sunni and Shia sections of the Muslim community.  The institutions are managed by Mutawallis and they are administered by committees according to usage and customs and terms of the deed and scheme.  The Mutawallis are paid out of the realisation of each Wakf.  The mausoleums of Haidar Ali and Tipu Sultan at the Gumbaz, Srirangapatna and other historical relics are managed by the Archaeological Survey of India and they do not come under Wakfs.

Back to Top